Friendship

 by Paula

True friendship is the only relation that survives in time, and it is based on addiction, loyalty, love, respect and loads of fun.

Friendship is something you choose to offer, you don’t do it out of a sense of obligation. How to be a friend you only learn by living, television doesn’t teach it, schools don’t teach it, and if you’re above a certain age, you realize our parents didn’t teach it. You have to learn it by living, by thinking that  someone is your  friend, only to find out they don’t think of you as their friend.   Friendship is not  only a state of mind, it’s an act too. It’s something you do, it’s not about whether you are good or not, it’s not a reflection of you, it’s a balanced relationship between people. That doesn’t mean it’s always balanced, at every moment. Sometimes you “need a friend” and other times it’s the other way round.

Larisa (my best friend) is the first person in my life who taught me how to be a friend. She is incredibly kind and patient, and she always knows exactly what to do or say to lift my spirits. What I love about  her  is that I can talk to her about anything no matter what is it. We have profound talks all the time – about religion, politics, love, about  everything. We see things from far different perspectives, though. But we always try to be there for one another.

I choose to think ‘friend’ is a very strong word, representing a very close relationship. I think that “To have a friend,  means to be a friend.”

Comments are closed.