THIS IS THE WRITER

CRISTINA SILEA ,11B.13

DAYDREAMING ABOUT TIME

AND  FUTURE…

                        Written by CRISTINA S.,11th B

 

Time. Defining time is one of the most difficult tasks, not only from a philosophical point of view, but also from a psychological and physical one. Time is one of Universe’s dimensions. Unlike space, time  orders events in an irreversible  sequence. Time is a primary notion (which cannot be defined, but perceived through senses) and is correlated to a specific event. So no, I cannot define time…It gives me a strange feeling, some sort of fear, because I cannot answer this question. Maybe I’m still too young to understand, to realize that there are yet lots of questions to be left unanswered…But I tried…I tried to find out more about time. I first tried to understand it in order to treasure it…

In my opinion, time is not only part of our lives, but it’s our life itself! People around us keep running continuously, they hurry in order not to lose track of time. But in fact, what are they actually losing? Is time really running away from us?  Perhaps I couldn’t prove you this in my writings, and if I’d try to search for an answer to all of my questions, words wouldn’t be enough. Even my words are slipping away, cause they don’t find the time to be written for so long…

OPTICAL ILLUSION

I’ve always been looking for an answer, and maybe, you could tell me if I found it. I mean…we lose track of time. Time is everywhere, which means we lose in fact everything, everything means life, so this means we lose life itself!???? So the fact that time shouldn’t be wasted should be transformed into: Life shouldn’t be wasted! I didn’t know this before, and that’s why I consider the time that has passed by is kind of wasted… until today …

I’m telling you now, so that you know, so that you appreciate and treasure your time, because time is life and we don’t want to waste our lives, do we?  At the moment I’m in a sort of panic, seeing that all the objects around me are affected by time, that all the people around me are influenced by the flowing of time and I can’t do anything to stop this…What should I do? Stop the flowing of time? That would be impossible…

PRIMORDIAL LOVE

I could try giving people an advice instead. I’m advising you now, by means of  my modest composition  to give serious consideration to this concern of mine…Because time could be the most powerful weapon that humans can’t defeat. Time kills people, it kills you slowly, day by day, it makes you older, loosens your sight, your hearing and transforms you physically and psychologically…This transformation keeps on going until your spirit is so weakened, that it cannot face the fight anymore, this continuous fight that he holds against time…You see?

Always, but always time is the winner. But this doesn’t necessarily means that you have to give up the fight…As you all probably know the saying: “you’ve won a battle, but you didn’t win the war…”  The point is to try to win as many battles as you can, because obviously, you won’t be able to win the war. You could win small battles, representing small fragments of your life, representing feelings and memories…When you talk about present, you feel emotions that you experience today, and when you talk about your past, you remember what you’ve lived.

And I keep talking about past, about future, I just keep talking…But I think of something totally different. I try to notice these changes that time seems to attack us with. People try to hide them; they avoid believing that they’re actually getting old. I think this is one of the biggest mistakes! Why be ashamed?  Because you were brave enough to fight time? Did It actually defeated you? So what…Sometimes you have to learn how to lose…Because maybe you’ll win the next fight, especially if you stop considering time as your enemy and start thinking that those people that fought against time are indeed extraordinary! I sometimes surprise myself thinking: “What if these changes take me down too, eventually? What if I get defeated too, eventually?” I kept these frightening questions to myself, but I’m sharing my fears with you now…I keep thinking enough about my present, but there’s still time to fantasize, to get into reverie, to feel nostalgic but fulfilled…

ALWAYS

And they say I’m a dreamer…And by ‘they’ I mean the people who haven’t actually faced time, or who have never been asking these kinds of questions to themselves…I don’t dream. That’s what you do during night time, while sleeping…Dreams are subconscious experiences that reveal sequences of images, sounds, ideas, emotions and sensations that are ‘lived’ usually during sleeping. I am aware of what I hope and I’m definitely awake. And if only the thousands of dreams that I have would be real, I could answer at least one tenth of the questions about time in my mind…Since I was little I have been asked what would I like to become when I grew up and I never knew what to answer or instead, I gave an illogical, meaningless answer. I wanted to become a princess or the captain of a ship. All without any explanation, they were childish ideas…

As you grew up, I noticed, there are a lot more blanks to fill in… I’ve been noticing for some time now that I’m capable of choosing what I dream of, what I want. This is what differentiates us from other beings: Reason. So, by connecting all of my thoughts, my dreams and my fears, I learned to wish to become a teacher! Not only because my peculiar way of being imprints me with a dominant attitude, but also because I want to share everything I know with others, I want to have something to say, I want to teach everyone everything I know. I want to leave something behind me in this world, and I want to do this by teaching my students. I will leave them my knowledge, so that, it would  be transmitted through generations…But until then, I try to share my thoughts with you and to ‘spread’ all the questions in everyone’s mind, so that they’ll treasure their answers more…WHEN AND IF THEY FIND THEM OUT…

I definitely like what I see in my future. Maybe it’s too good to be true…Maybe it’s not….I couldn’t know what time has prepared for me. But I definitely know that time is constantly running and we have to fight it, we have to win the small battles so that we remain with the best fragments of our lives!

THIS IS THE WRITER

CRISTINA SILEA ,11B19

Comments are closed.