ANDREI PACURAR,11D1,

             MY BOOKS AND MY MIND’S EYE

                  Written by ANDREI P.,11th D

At that time I knew that my 20 bucks spent on that Witch’s prediction were not lost. I wasn’t surprised. It finally happened something interesting in my boring life. I am a big fan of those SF movies with wizards, dragons and knights on Pegasus (a horse with giant wings, able to fly) and I have a huge collection of this kind of books.

The flying book was my favorite book, named “Draconia”. It also started glowing yellow, like the colors of the dragons from the book. It seemed that the book takes the characteristics of the story written in it.

I found this book flying above my bed, the place where I left it, so I headed to my Bookshelf from the other room. There was a disaster, if you could name it like this because all my books were alive, I mean they were not talking or walking…but…

I considered them alive by the simple fact that they could reproduce their own characteristics in a 3D manner! (this could be the scientific explanation!). But how could they do this?

I simply liked to believe it was magic. I got new friends, and  a free  medium as well, because after I introduced myself to my book called “The Oracle”, it started to tell me my future, until I had enough and I shouted “Shut up, you annoy me already”. I was distracted by the little dwarfs from the “Miners from Moria” that were digging a hole in my wall, but that was nothing in comparison with my melted carpet caused by  the “Lava hound” …I was somehow feeling sick!

Then something ,SOMETHING ELSE happened… All my books were flying in the direction of my kitchen, where I left my gift from my dad.  The thickest book from my collection had over 1000 pages . “The Portal”. All my books were dragged into A  portal by a massive force of suction! I placed myself in the front of the portal…blocking the entry, but as the books hit me, they pushed my body into the portal and I was reduced TO A ONE INCH-TALL CREATURE and absorbed by that giant book …At that moment I lost my consciousness…

I was woken up by the sound of a dragon ,laying on the grass. I didn’t know if it was a hallucination or a real dragon! I started walking  in the direction of a huge castle, with my head in the sky, and I almost stepped over a dwarf’s house. At that moment I realized the portal didn’t destroy my books. It combined them, all in one! I had to hurry and disable the portal and recover my books, I had to go to “The Elder”, the only one powerful enough to help me restore the things…

In my path, I found a Pegasus that was hurt but I managed to heal him with some mystical herbs I found. I knew how I could find them because all my books had been combined in a single one which contained all the information I needed. Pegasus managed to fly again, and he wanted me to fly with him. I think he read my mind… We were heading straight to the castle…and…

I can say that it was my greatest experience ever, I never felt so free, it was simply amazing…

When I arrived at the castle, the whole edifice was surrounded by black clouds. It was not raining though; there were just a few pinkish lightings… The   entire structure was surrounded by a strange dark aura that made me feel afraid, reluctant to enter…  I knew The Elder was imprisoned there and that I was the only one that could possibly help him in that situation. I did this for my books; I wanted them back as they had been before all these things happened…

I entered and I found myself in a large hallway, with lots of paintings on the wall .The characters from the paintings were alive, they were watching me as they were speaking with each other. I walked and walked, and walked, until I found a dead-end… A huge face on an enormous painting covering the entire wall was on the wall, in front of me! The painting opened its eyes   and asked me the password. If the password was right, I could see The Elder but if the password was wrong, I could be dead.

“Ennyn Durin Aran Moria. Pedo mellon a Minno. Im Narvi hain echant. Celebrimbor o Eregion tethant. I thiw hin”, this was the right password! I remembered it from the book (or even from the movie)…

The wall decomposed brick by brick, and I could enter the chamber where The Elder was. He was very old, short, and he was wearing an orange robe. He told me I was the only one who could close the portal from the valley of the dragons.

He gave me the key telling me that the incantation for closing the portal was known just by me, and all I needed was the key. I just needed to fly with my Pegasus to the middle of the valley and avoid the gigantic angry dragons! No kidding!!! Was that all??? Piece of cake for a superhuman or for a hero from my books but not for me! I can barely do 15 push-ups!ANDREI PACURAR,11D2,

In spite of that I flew with my Pegasus, my eyes closed… I thought that by doing this, I could be less scared by the dragons! My Pegasus was a coward, just as I was…He abandoned me at the border of the valley! I lay down on the ground for a while, thinking about what to do… At that time, a huge branch came from nowhere and grabbed me… I was dragged towards a massive tree…It was an Ent, a very old tree, older than the dragons, the Protector of the valley; he told me he was THERE to help me get to the portal, and he showed me an underground tunnel dug by his roots…

I got right in the front of the portal, the key in my hand and the incantation in my mind, but as I was placing the key in its place, a dragon attacked me; I was defended by a knight in a black armor, riding a rainbow…In that moment, all the dragons were heading towards us; some of them were throwing giant boulders and others were spitting fire…

Just as I was pronouncing the incantation, a giant boulder hit me…

I woke up in my bed with a massive bump on my head, my books were all over me and my shelf was down…

I realized then that my books were too heavy for my shelf (that was right above my head )and it fell right on my head!

This was the scientific explanation, but what if I closed the portal just in time? We will never know…

ANDREI PACURAR,11D23,

Comments are closed.